Caleb Kelly

“Intervention and Isolation: Sound in Public Art Space” [ENG]

(« Intervention et isolement : Le son dans le lieu d’art public »)

 

Résumé: La galerie d’art a longtemps été considérée comme un environnement architectural pour la contemplation silencieuse de l’art visuel, mais de nombreuses interventions dans cet espace ont été tout sauf contemplatives. Des artistes, ayant ôté tout contenu visuel du lieu artistique, ont laissé un vide sonore dans la galerie. L’expectative d’une expérience visuelle ou, plus récemment, du divertissement dans le musée d’art, oblige un certain public à découvrir l’expérience esthétique dans des endroits inattendus. La présentation traitera des œuvres dans la galerie vide qui vont du silence le plus profond à un volume et à une présence physique miasmatiques.

S’attachant à l’art et à la musique dans l’espace public du cube blanc, la présentation se penchera sur Marco Fusinato (AUS), Bruce Nauman (USA), La Monte Young (USA), David Haines (AUS) et Joyce Hinterding (AUS), pour conduire à une conclusion bruyante.

 

Bio: Caleb Kelly est un universitaire, un organisateur d’événements et un commissaire qui travaille dans le domaine des arts sonores à UNSW: Australia à Sydney. Son champ de recherches porte sur le son dans les arts médiatiques et la musique expérimentale. Kelly est l’auteur de Cracked Media: The Sound of Malfunction (MIT Press) et l’éditeur de Sound (MIT Press and Whitechapel Gallery). Son prochain livre, Gallery Sound (Bloomsbury Academic), sera publié en 2016. En 2015, il a été professeur invité « Edgard Varèse » à la Technische Universität de Berlin.

Caleb Kelly

Intervention and Isolation: Sound in Public Art Space[ENG]

 

Abstract: The art gallery has long been held as an architectural environment for the quiet contemplation of visual art, yet there have been numerous interventions into this space that are anything but contemplative. Artists having emptied the art space of visual content, leave an empty sounding gallery. The expectation of a visual experience or in more recent years entertainment in the art museum forces an audience to discover an aesthetic experience in unexpected places. The paper will discuss works within the empty gallery that traverse the spectrum of deep quiet to miasmic volume and physicality.

Focusing on art and music within the public space of the white cube, the talk will look at Marco Fusinato (Aus), Bruce Nauman (USA), La Monte Young (USA), David Haines (AUS) and Joyce Hinterding (AUS) and lead to a noisy conclusion.

 

Bio: Caleb Kelly is an academic, event director and curator working in the area of the sound arts at UNSW: Australia in Sydney. His research interests are focused on sound as it relates to media art and experimental music. Kelly is the author of Cracked Media: The Sound of Malfunction (MIT Press) and the editor of Sound (MIT Press and Whitechapel Gallery), and his forthcoming book Gallery Sound (Bloomsbury Academic) will be published in 2016. In 2015, he was the Edgard Varèse Guest Professor at the Technische Universität Berlin.